Case study 2014 | Avtovaz

A decisive argument for the company was the guaranteed availability of spare parts and support in the country, which is why electrical engineering and automation technology from Siemens should be used throughout. With the support from Siemens, which is often important for small and medium-sized companies, Hagel has successfully mastered the challenges of using previously unproven control and drive technology for the first time on a large scale. Flexible individual servo drives instead of cam disks. The electronic transfer system ETR1, driven by more than 30 Simotics S-1FK7 servomotors, replaces an outdated electronic transfer system driven by mechanical cam disks together with a blank lowerer. A shuttle, which is also electronically synchronized, bridges the former intermediate station and connects both press beds directly. All this together makes the processes more flexible and precise.

It simplifies and accelerates both frequent die changes and maintenance thanks to improved accessibility. Maintenance can now also be supported remotely. The 3-axis transfer with three gripper rail drive units, mounted vertically between the press uprights, connects two press beds with a surface area of 5350 x 2500 mm each. The feed per station is freely programmable from 0 to 1800 mm, as are the movements when closing (0 to 450 mm) and lifting (0 to 275 mm). This is matched to a blank lowerer, which takes the blanks with a maximum size of 1700 x 2200 mm from a magnetic conveyor belt and transfers them. The payload of the transfer system is 800 kg, the cycle rate for all three axes is between 16 and 22 strokes per minute. A distributed control concept was developed for the application. The basic functions are controlled by a fail-safe Simatic S7-319F.

The interaction of the more than 30 drive axes is coordinated by a Simotion D455-2, based on motion control functions from the standard Simotion SimoTrans application. Specialists from various Siemens departments accompanied the initial application from project planning to commissioning at the owner's site. One of the special features is an intelligent torque control system, which ensures that the torques are distributed evenly over three feed motors at a time. The drive configuration tool, Sizer, has proven to be very convenient and time-saving, enabling the machine builder to verify its calculations and then generate the order lists automatically. Thanks to the support of Siemens, the entry into the new control and drive world was quick and trouble-free.

"We see clear advantages in using coordinated components from a single source, ideally on servo presses, transfer systems and feeders."

Martin Hagel, Managing Director of Design and Development

"The cooperation of specialists from all disciplines was excellent in every respect," says Helmut Hembach, Managing Director of Sales at Hagel Automation, "just like in our company, the decision-making processes were short and direct." Integrated innovation with Press Line Simulation
The positive experience has already been incorporated into further follow-up transfer projects and has motivated the company to use Simotion and Sinamics on a newly developed linear feeder. The next (logical) step has already been taken and initial experience has been gained with the simulation of press handling using the Press Line Simulation software package (PLS, see also article on page 14/15) from Siemens. In contrast to many competitors of its size in the press automation segment, Hagel also has extensive experience in press design based on decades of cooperation with a well-known manufacturer.

And thus the necessary understanding and know-how for efficient integration of handling and press. The across-the-board compatibility of Siemens' product portfolio eliminates or minimizes lengthy interface adaptations and the associated errors right from the word go. "We see clear advantages in using coordinated components from a single source, ideally on the servo press, transfer and feeder," says Martin Hagel, Managing Director of Design and Development. This also simplifies the simulation, which in turn facilitates coordination and verification of the complex interplay, helps minimize risks and accelerates developments. "A 3D simulation helps to visualize complex processes more vividly and thus to communicate them faster. It is very important to be able to create and modify the underlying models yourself, i.e. not to be dependent on third parties," says Martin Hagel.

Via servo transfer for simulation

 

Hagel Automation GmbH from Grünkraut near Ravensburg has retrofitted an existing straight-side press with a new electronic 3-axis transfer on behalf of a globally operating press manufacturer in one of the largest automobile factories in Russia.

Excerpt from SIEMENS trade fair information sheet
spectrum metal forming 2014 | Press automation

Case Study 2014 | Avtovaz

Ein entscheidendes Argument für den Betreiber war die gesicherte Verfügbarkeit von Ersatzteilen und auch Support im Land, weshalb durchgängig Elektro- und Automatisierungstechnik von Siemens eingesetzt werden sollte. Mit der für kleinere und mittelständische Unternehmen oftmals wichtigen Unterstützung seitens Siemens hat Hagel die Herausforderungen des erstmaligen Einsatzes bislang nicht genutzter Steuerungs- und Antriebstechnik gleich in größerem Umfang erfolgreich bewältigt. Flexible Servo-Einzelantriebe statt Kurvenscheiben. Das von über 30 Servomotoren Simotics S-1FK7 angetriebene elektronische Transfersystem ETR1 ersetzt ein veraltetes, über mechanische Kurvenscheiben getriebenes samt Platinensenker. Ein ebenfalls elektronisch synchronisierter Shuttle überbrückt die bisherige Zwischenablage und verbindet beide Pressentische direkt. All das zusammen macht die Abläufe flexibler und präziser.

Es vereinfacht und beschleunigt dank besserer Zugänglichkeit sowohl die häufigen Werkzeugwechsel als auch die Wartung. Letztere kann nun auch aus der Ferne unterstützt werden. Der stehend zwischen den Pressenständern montierte 3-Achs-Transfer mit drei Schließkästen verbindet zwei Pressentische mit einer Fläche von jeweils 5350 x 2500 mm. Der Vorschub je Stufe ist von 0 bis 1800 mm frei programmierbar, ebenso die Bewegungen beim Schließen (0 bis 450 mm) und Heben (0 bis 275 mm). Darauf abgestimmt ist ein Platinensenker, der die maximal 1700 x 2200 mm großen Platinen von einem magnetischen Förderband übernimmt und übergibt. Die Zuladung des Transfersystems beträgt 800 kg, die Taktrate liegt bei  allen drei Achsen zwischen 16 und 22 Hüben pro Minute. Für die Anwendung wurde ein verteiltes Steuerungskonzept entwickelt. Den grundlegenden Funktionen steuert eine fehlersichere Simatic S7-319F.

Das Zusammenspiel der mehr als 30 Antriebsachsen koordiniert eine Simotion D455-2, basierend auf Motion-ControlFunktionen der Standardapplikation Simotion SimoTrans. Dabei haben Spezialisten verschiedener Fachbereiche von Siemens die Erstanwendung von der Projektierung bis zur Inbetriebnahme beim Betreiber begleitet. Zu den Besonderheiten zählt eine intelligente Drehmomentenregelung, die für eine gleichmäßige Verteilung der Drehmomente auf jeweils drei Vorschubmotoren sorgt. Als sehr komfortabel und Zeit sparend hat sich das Antriebsauslegungs-Tool Sizer erwiesen, womit der Maschinenbauer seine Berechnungen verifizieren und schließlich automatisiert die Bestelllisten generieren konnte und kann. Der Einstieg in die neue Steuerungs- und Antriebswelt ist dank der Unterstützung durch Siemens zügig und problemlos verlaufen.

„ Wir sehen klare Vorteile darin, aufeinander abgestimmte Komponenten aus einer Hand, im Idealfall an Servo-Presse, Transfer und Feeder, einzusetzen.“

Martin Hagel, Geschäftsführer im Bereich Konstruktion und Entwicklung

„Die Zusammenarbeit der Spezialisten aller Fachbereiche war in jeder Hinsicht ausgezeichnet“, sagt Helmut Hembach, Geschäftsführer Vertrieb bei Hagel Automation, „wie bei uns im Haus waren die Entscheidungswege kurz und direkt“. Integriert innovieren mit Press Line Simulation Die positiven Erfahrungen flossen bereits in weitere Transfer-Folgeprojekte ein und haben das Unternehmen dazu motiviert, an einem neuentwickelten Linear-Feeder Simotion und Sinamics einzusetzen. Dabei hat man auch schon zum nächsten (logischen) Schritt angesetzt und sammelt erste Erfahrungen mit der Simulation des Pressen-Handlings mit dem Software-Paket Press Line Simulation (PLS, siehe auch Beitrag auf Seite 14/15) von Siemens. Im Gegensatz zu vielen Mitbewerbern seiner Größe im Segment der Pressenautomation hat Hagel auch umfassende Erfahrung in der Pressenkonstruktion aus der jahrzehntelangen Zusammenarbeit mit einem namhaften Hersteller.

Und damit das für effiziente Integration von Handling und Presse nötige Verständnis und Knowhow. Wobei die Durchgängigkeit des Produkt-Portfolios von Siemens langwierige Schnittstellenanpassungen und damit verbundene Fehler von Haus aus eliminiert/minimiert. „Wir sehen klare Vorteile darin, aufeinander abgestimmte Komponenten aus einer Hand, im Idealfall an ServoPresse, Transfer und Feeder, einzusetzen“, sagt Martin Hagel, Geschäftsführer im Bereich Konstruktion und Entwicklung. Das vereinfache auch die Simulation. Was wiederum die Abstimmung und Verifikation des komplexen Zusammenspiels erleichtere, Risiken minimieren helfe und Entwicklungen insgesamt beschleunige. „Eine 3D- Simulation hilft komplexe Abläufe plastischer darzustellen und damit schneller zu vermitteln. Sehr wichtig ist dabei, die zugrunde liegenden Modelle selbst erstellen und verändern zu können, also nicht auf Dritte angewiesen zu sein“, so Martin Hagel. 

Via Servotransfer zur Simulation

 

Hagel Automation GmbH from Grünkraut near Ravensburg has retrofitted an existing straight-side press with a new electronic 3-axis transfer on behalf of a globally operating press manufacturer in one of the largest automobile factories in Russia.

Excerpt from SIEMENS trade fair information sheet
spectrum metal forming 2014 | Press automation